How music inspires me

Hello everyone! Hope everyone’s having a good February so far. I thought I’d talk to you about how I get into the mood to work. One of the hardest things about being an artist is motivating yourself to start a piece and get it finished. Whether it’s a painting, a sculpture or something else, a work of art can consume so much of your time that it can be both physically and emotionally draining. It can also be hard to get yourself in the right frame of mind to work on a particular piece.

I find that listening to music helps me a lot with feeling motivated and getting in the right mood for a particular piece. The thing with music is that, like art, it is so varied with so many different styles and genres. Different sounds and melodies can inspire different moods. You can relax to classical music, feel upbeat listening to pop music or experience stronger emotions like anger or frustration listening to a genre such as rock or heavy metal. It’s all about feeling what you want to transpose on to your painting and music can definitely help to generate those feelings. Some of my favourite classical musicians to listen to, for example, are Bach and Brahms. I find that listening to these artists allows me to relax and feel positive about the piece I’m working on. I’m in the zone and my piece reflects my calm state of mind. One of the great things about art is that it allows you to get in touch with your feelings and express them; I find that listening to music is a great way of finding those feelings and really understanding them.

Leave a Reply

