The trials and tribulations of video editing

Video editing is one of those things that look easy but are in fact very hard to do. Whenever you watch a video, you often don’t realise just how much work has gone into creating that video. You see bloopers and things like that all the time – video editing is definitely a skill that’s hard to master! What experiences have you had with video editing? Have you ever cut yourself off in the middle of a sentence? Left in some bloopers by mistake? Mash everything together so it jumps all the time? Perhaps all three? I’ve definitely experienced all three, if not more!

I’ve been trying for about a month now to edit a video that I’m hoping to upload to my new website. So far it’s going quite smoothly – I’m just about managing to edit out all the bloopers and those little moments when I need to fluff my hair and apply some more lippy. The one thing that’s getting to me is a little millimetre of a frame that just keeps evading me. When I watch the video in playback, I can just see my head quickly jerk back. This particular frame is a left over from the ending, which mainly consisted of me ranting and raving.

It’s taking me a while to get the hang of this, but I’m getting there! Hopefully video editing is something I can learn to conquer. I guess it’s just one of those things that take a lot of practice before you get it right. At least I’m having fun with it along the way!

Leave a Reply

