Famous Secret Location Project

The middle of May saw one of the hottest days of the year. Luckily I wasn’t indoors – I was visiting quite a famous place and spent the days wandering around, exploring everything it had to offer. There were beautiful, scenic gardens which I spent over three hours walking through, taking in the sights and smells and appreciating the quiet. There was a really tranquil atmosphere and I felt really calm and relaxed as I explored the gardens. I must have taken hundreds of photos!

After I was done exploring the gardens, I took a boat trip. There was a famous cottage right next to where I got the boat – I was lucky to get some really great photos of it as we sailed past. There’s a lot of controversy surrounding this cottage, though it does look just like a typical idyllic cottage. It hides its history very well. A series of very secretive meetings took place here in the 1960s. I’m working on a painting of this particular scene and I’m lucky not to have a deadline, so I can take my time with it.

I really enjoy being able to work on this painting at my own pace without the pressure of a deadline. I can make adjustments here and there and can take the cottage’s history into account when interpreting it in my painting. What I’m also enjoying is the challenge of painting water – it’s really exciting because I can use loads of different colours to create the reflections of the landscape in the river. I’m using two different types of brushstrokes: I use very loose strokes when working on the water and use tighter, more focused strokes to paint the small details of the cottage.

Do you have an idea of what I’m painting? If you want to find out, keep checking my TV channel at http://joannesberkshirescenes.com/about-joanne-perkins.aspx. I’ll be posting a work-in-progress video about the painting which will reveal what exactly I’m painting.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Leave a Reply

