Juggling a lot of balls in the air

At the end of each month I find my list of things to do has got longer and longer! Over the past year I’ve learnt a lot of new things since I went about setting up my art business. I’m still learning new things every week; I prefer going about things by myself and picking up new ideas and skills using my own initiative rather than paying someone to give me a list of things to learn. There have been people who have tried to show me something useful, but they then want to be paid and to be honest I don’t think you should always have to pay out for this sort of thing.

What I’ve been learning this week is how to create end cards with clickable links for my videos. One obstacle that I’m facing is trying to find a photoshop that’s compatible with a MacBook Air. I’ve been watching quite a few videos on how to create end cards, so I’m feeling confident about that and there’s always the videos I can use for reference when it comes to actually creating the end cards.

Another thing I need to do is write my next newsletter which I just recently started. I’ve also got business cards and postcards that I created last week and they’re still waiting to be printed off. I’ve just finished another painting and am busy editing and uploading video clips for my latest works in progress video. Even though I’ve got lots on, I absolutely love because this is what I’ve wanted to do for my dream job for years. It doesn’t really feel like work at all. I believe art is my calling and I feel really lucky to be able to do this instead of working a regular 9-5 job. I did that for many years but I was unhappy and it wasn’t exactly the best time of my life. Even though I was working, I felt like I was unproductive and wasn’t doing what I was meant to be doing. All the while I knew something had to change but I didn’t know when that change would happen.

On top of all that there’s my social media sites that I have to keep up-to-date. I would spend more time on them, but there just aren’t enough hours in the day to be honest. When I’m working on several paintings at the same time – which I usually end up doing – the days just seem to go so fast and before I know it the day’s nearly over. Speaking of paintings I’ve got another one I’m aiming to have finished by the end of the month. Unfortunately I’m not going to do a work in progress video for this one because after I started recording footage I ended up losing all the footage because the camera broke on me. It wouldn’t feel right for me to start recording with a half-finished painting.

Anyway that’s just an update on everything I’ve got going on. As you can see I’m very busy, but it’s all good and it’s all hopefully going to lead to good things in the future!

juggling

Leave a Reply

