How painting is good for you

All my life I’ve wanted to paint, but it wasn’t until the other week that I had a good think about how painting’s benefitted me throughout my life so far. I’ve always been determined to become a professional artist yet I never truly appreciated what good painting was doing for me on the way to becoming professional. There were times when I thought I would never make it, yet painting was still doing me some good – I just never realised it at the time.

The main way painting’s been good for me is because it’s given me something to concentrate on and something to aim towards. I think that’s the way it’s benefitted me the most, to be honest. Without painting, I don’t know what I’d be doing. In an ideal world, I would have always been a painter; this isn’t an ideal world, but at least I’ve always had my painting to keep me driven and motivated.

I think painting’s also helped me develop as a person. Through painting I’ve learned to take a step back and look at the world in a different way – I don’t think I would have gained that perspective from anything else. I can zone out from the hustle and bustle of daily life and devote my full attention to my work. Because painting helps me relax, I’ve learned to take a calmer approach to a lot of things in life. Again, I wouldn’t have learned to take that calmer approach had it not been for painting.

Finally, I think painting’s allowed for me to get to know myself better. The more I learned about painting, the more I learned about myself, because painting is something creative that requires you to think about what you want and how you want your work to be. Whenever you work on a painting, you pour a lot of emotion and feeling into it; for me landscapes evoke memories from my childhood of travels through Europe. Painting landscapes is a personal experience because it involves me taking inspiration from memories and thinking about how they’ve influenced me.

How do you think painting’s good for you? How has it benefitted you?

Please subscribe to my email list here:

https://www.formstack.com/forms/?1934556-jwhBRxGL8x

by-the-lake-joanne-perkins

Leave a Reply

