Diary of an Artist: How I Create Mini Meadows Part Two

Good morning everyone!

Today’s vlog is part two of Diary of an Artist: How I Create Mini Meadows. If you watched last week’s vlog, welcome back; if you’re a new viewer, welcome to my vlog.

In this video I’m going to focus on painting the foliage. To do this, I’m going to use a variety of green pastel shades.

To create these green pastel shades, I mixed together burnt umber, ultramarine blue, cadmium yellow, raw sienna and white. Once I’ve created the shade I want, which is similar to how grass looks once it’s been well watered, I then start from the bottom and work my way up to the top. As I move upwards and fill in the sides, I change the pastel shade a bit so it’s more of a blue-green colour to show the sun shining down on the meadow.

After I’ve got all of the background done, I then go over the grasses with a fine brush. By doing this, I give the grasses more definition and substance.

If you liked this video, please share it and if you’re new to my channel please subscribe for more videos.

You can watch Diary of an Artist: How I Create Mini Meadows Part Two here:

Have a look at my Instagram page here:

http://instagram.com/berkshirescenes

Please subscribe to my email list here:

https://www.formstack.com/forms/?1934556-jwhBRxGL8x

iStock_000053200712_Medium_623

Leave a Reply

