Ferry Cottage

Hello Everyone

I wanted to share with you  the story behind a painting I did of one of the cottages at Cliveden House in Taplow England, which is immensely popular among the tourist trade because it is quintessentially English  and set off the path on the Thames.

I visited Cliveden House May bank holiday in 2014 as it was on my to do list for a year and It was one of those snap decisions to make the effort to go otherwise i would probably  never have got round to it.   It was a steaming hot day and the sight of Cliveden House alone took my breath away, it smacked of old English elegance and the fine English gentleman.  As I neared the wall of the balcony at the back of the house the manicured lawns and topiary came into view, and they were spectacular and I was mesmerised by it.  At this point I was unaware of the cottages situated on the ground level.  I proceeded to explore the grounds and found  a set of steps that led down to it. I soon found Ferry cottage which was occupied by a family who were sitting outside eating lunch.  In that moment It struck me how a guest of the cottage would like to own a painting of Ferry cottage as a memento of their stay.  I took several pictures at different angles and I chose the one with the path fully in the scene as it gave a sense of distance.

I free hand drew the cottage first then made two lines for the path. When I drew out the cottage, I crashed and burned on the first two attempts because I was so engrossed in the film I was listening to I drew massive rooftops which covered three quarters of the page, I ended up throwing the piece of paper away and starting on a fresh piece.  I used acrylics and I painted in pastel shades of greens, reds, yellow and white which transformed into a beautiful and tranquil scene.

I hope you enjoy this painting as much as I enjoyed creating it. Next week I will share another scene I painted which was opposite the cottage.

Until next time

Leave a Reply

